Archive for October 8, 2010

Streetstyle: Glasgow – Shannon & Kelly

Hello fellow fashion lovers!  So it’s been a while since my last post, and I’ve just realized I’m the only blogger who has yet to introduce myself!  My name is Elizabeth, I’m a fun-loving Canadian who has just moved to Glasgow for a year.  I’m thrilled to be one of your tell us fashion bloggers as it gives me even more of an excuse to check out the fashion scene here in the UK! So without any further hesitation, I bring you my favorite finds of today:

Name: Shannon & Kelly
Location: Buchanan Galleries
Current Wardrobe Essentials: High-waisted shorts
Favorite Fall Trend: Fur coats
Shopping Haven: Topshop
Why we love it:  These girls look fun and original in their mitch-matched outfits.  With their funky headbands, shorts & leggings and fun accesories, they did a fab job of putting their own unique spins on some big trends!


eal x


Streetstyle: friends out for a shopping day

Name: Patrick Alexander
Age: 17
Hobby: Music, Skateboard
Favourite brand: Cheap Monday, Alis, Emerica

Name: Caroline Finis
Age: 18
Hobby: Music, Dance
Favourite brand: American Apparel, Topshop, Weekday


If you could emulate anyone – who would it be?

As much as we all have our own individual style and can pull together some amazing outfits, most of us have that ultimate style icon who inspires our fashion creativity and influences our daily wardrobe choices.

I admit mine can change on a weekly basis: one minute im an olsen twin and the next trying my best to look like I have just fallen out of Chloe Sevigny’s wardrobe. On the whole though, there is one fashionista who to me personally, has effortless style and amazing flair when it comes to dressing. That girl is indeed, the one and only, Alexa Chung…

I know that to a lot of you lovely fashionistas out there, Alexa is predictable and you groan every time you open Elle because she’s plastered over a two page spread with her brogues and her teeny weeny, cutsie dress but to me, I think she looks amazing in every way and I just wish that one day I could look half as cool as she does!

So what do I like about her style?

I think that the thing I like most about her style is the fact that Alexa could wear the oddest thing yet make it work. I guess a lot of that is down to the confidence she has with what she’s wearing. She always looks completely comfortable in anything she wears. Alexa definately reflects my taste in fashion and I will admit that I do emulate her style quite a bit (if only i had her long legs to pull it off effectively!)

[picapp align=”center” wrap=”false” link=”term=alexa+chung&iid=9719579″ src=”http://view1.picapp.com/pictures.photo/image/9719579/alexa-chung-for-madewell/alexa-chung-for-madewell.jpg?size=500&imageId=9719579″ width=”380″ height=”570″ /]

[picapp align=”center” wrap=”false” link=”term=alexa+chung&iid=9719232″ src=”http://view2.picapp.com/pictures.photo/image/9719232/alexa-chung-for-madewell/alexa-chung-for-madewell.jpg?size=500&imageId=9719232″ width=”375″ height=”594″ /]

hello crazy little quirky outfit! I love it!

Alexa has earned her style icon crown completely on her own. It infuriates me when celebrities are given a style icon title when they have stylists running around in the background picking out those amazing pieces for them/ *cough* CHERYL COLE*cough* :).

I guess it might be unfair of me to criticize Cheryl Cole for being seen as a style icon because I guess to a lot of people she is. What do you guys think? What is a style icon really? Does that person have to gain it through their own judgement with style or should they be regarded as influential because they’re a public figure and uphold a particular image? Give me your opinions.

Also tell me… who is your style icon and why?

 

[picapp align=”center” wrap=”false” link=”term=alexa+chung&iid=9663181″ src=”http://view2.picapp.com/pictures.photo/image/9663181/photo-at1-xposure/photo-at1-xposure.jpg?size=500&imageId=9663181″ width=”380″ height=”569″ /]

So most people may hate this look but I love the little bow tie collar and those Chanel booties…so SS’11 Alexa! I love this look because its weird and unusual – who else could pull off a little dolly dress and space boots?!

 

Let me know your thoughts guys!

 

In the mean time I bid you all a good night! Look out for 2moro’s post on LFW!

H x